7-10 Assembly 27 February

On Wednesday 27 February, we had our first 7-10 Assembly. It was an excellent opportunity for our 2019 College Captains Maddi and Lachie, and Vice Captains Ella and Tom to lead our assembly.

We had a number of presentations, specifically ensuring students were aware of the Sport and Creative Arts opportunities in 2019.

The Mission Team also shared information about Lent and in particular Project Compassion. Dominic College will be enjoying numerous fundraisers and taking donations during Lent to support those less fortunate then ourselves.

A fantastic part of the Assembly was the new official presentation of the new College Colours. Congratulations to the following Year 10s, who were approved by the College Leadership Team to have their outstanding commitment and effort recognised:

Amelia Hill-Mundy, Ursula Harris, Emily Viney and Sarah Fulton were awarded Academic Colours. Thomas Atkinson, Zoe Watson, Matilda McGovern and Lachlan Rowlands were awarded Creative Arts Colours.

Annalize Moase was awarded both Mission and Creative Arts Colours. Ella Fitzpatrick and Sarah Fitzpatrick, were awarded all four Colours in Academic, Mission, Creative Arts and Sport.

Maddison and Lachlan also presented for the first time this year, talking about all the events that are currently occurring and congratulating the students on how well they have started the year. They then encouraged the students to continue to support both our Relay for Life Target (we have hit $12,000 which is 60% of our goal) and to support Project Compassion.

Ms Gilligan, Mr Casni and I also presented to the study body, focusing on what we are doing well and areas we wish to continually develop.

In particular, we shared the focus phrase for which the Year 6 and Year 10 Captains voted: a Mother Theresa quote – Peace Begins with a Smile – so that students recognise their ability to ensure our community is happy, positive and supportive of each other and the wider community.

You can see photos from the assembly on our web gallery: Year 7-10 assembly.

Mr Aaron Davey - Coordinator of Pastoral Care 7-10