Awards to Dominic College Leaders

Last week, the College received news that two of our College leaders, Mrs Janine O’Hea and Mr Mike O’Brien will be honoured by the Australian Council for Educational Leadership (ACEL TAS) for their work and achievements.

ACEL awards recognise those leaders in our state and across the country who have made a significant contribution to the understanding and practice of educational leadership.

The Australian Council for Educational Leaders (ACEL TAS) annually honours one or two educational leaders who have made a significant contribution to the improvement of student and organisational outcomes and understanding of the theory and practice of leadership with a prestigious Fellowship or an Honorary Fellowship.

ACEL Honorary Fellowship for Mrs Janine O’Hea

This year, our Acting Principal, Mrs Janine O’Hea will be awarded an Honorary ACEL Fellowship, which will be a testimony to her 40 years of committed and energetic service to education in Tasmania.

Janine has had a distinguished career as an outstanding Assistant Principal of two Catholic schools including Dominic College since 2011, and Principal of three Catholic schools. She has been Principal of St Thomas More’s Primary, Newstead (1993-1997), Sacred Heart Primary, Ulverstone (1998-2001), and St Aloysius Primary, Kingston (2002-2006).

In all of her educational endeavours, Janine’s total focus has been on achieving improved educational outcomes for students. Her contribution to the leadership of Catholic schools has been tireless; marked by wisdom, a commitment to the disadvantaged and marginalised and a passionate resolve that students and their well-being be at the heart of all decisions.

Janine’s Honorary ACEL Fellowship acknowledges her outstanding educational leadership that has made a significant difference not only in her school communities but in shaping, preparing, supporting and walking with the next generation of teachers and school leaders in Tasmania.

ACEL Excellence in Educational Leadership Award for Mr Mike O’Brien

Our Director of Creative Arts K-10, Mr Mike O’Brien, will also receive an Australian Council for Educational Leadership (ACEL TAS) award for Excellence in Educational Leadership.

Under Mike’s leadership, there have been impressive initiatives in student performance and presentation opportunities at Dominic College since 2013. The development of a Creative Arts framework for enabling arts integration through such initiatives as the biennial Creative Arts Festival and the College’s Anzac Centenary project, ‘In their Own Words’ has been extensive. The introduction of diverse quality arts experiences for all students, such as our much-loved Theatre Sports House Competition, just one many initiatives which have led to rich educational outcomes for students.

Mike has consistently demonstrated visionary leadership in implementing Creative Arts initiatives at Dominic College and his dedication and achievements are most worthy of this recognition as an outstanding, innovative leader at Dominic College.

The ACEL Awards will be presented to Mrs O’Hea and Mr O’Brien at the ACEL TAS Annual Awards function, next Thursday evening 29 June at the University of Tasmania.

We congratulate both Janine and Mike on receiving these prestigious and well-deserved honours extended by the Australian Council for Educational Leaders Tasmanian Branch.